Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Freezer full of food!

Leave a comment

004
Look what Mama has been up to! I guess this is my version of nesting for this pregnancy!

I’ve spent several hours the last few days assembling freezer meals for after baby is born. This is something I never did with Allie, partly because I wasn’t very organized and partly because we couldn’t afford to buy the extra food to prep the meals.

I stumbled onto a good freezer recipe last week when I was going over recipe links I’d saved for future use. I made that one on Saturday and it was so easy and satisfying! Then on Sunday I planned a whole bunch more. The results are pictured above, and I’m not done yet!

Here is what I have made so far (from left to right):
Slow cooker turkey black bean chili a recipe from my friend Kelly at New Leaf Wellness. This is one meal.
Crock pot BBQ chicken and vegetables from one of my favorite blogs, Taste and Tell. I divided this into three meals.
Slow cooker pizza bake from a new blog that I discovered in my internet search, Six Sisters Stuff. I haven’t looked at it too much but what I’ve seen is worth a second look! I divided this into two.
Freezer chicken pot pie, really labor intensive… it took about two hours to put these all together. But what I saw when it was done was TOTALLY worth it. I can’t wait to try it. And considering the blog is called freezerdinner.com, I know I’ll be back! The recipe got two pies.

Put that all together and right now I have eight meals in my freezer ready to go! But I’m not done yet! In the next few days I’m making a couple meals that we’ll eat some and freeze some. On tap for tomorrow is chicken taco bowls. We’ll eat it for dinner tomorrow night and then I’ll freeze the leftovers.

Wednesday or Thursday I’m going to make baked pasta with chicken sausage. I’ll divide this into two meals and put one in the freezer. So far that will be a total of 10 meals.

I have a few more recipes bookmarked and will make as much more as I have room in the freezer for and/or time and/or motivation for. I got started on this project late, but I’m making some good progress. It is an extra expense to buy everything for these recipes to make ahead of time, but it will save lots of time, effort and money after Peyton is here! I can’t wait to try all of it!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 231 other followers