Life as we know it

Our family adventures

One month old!

1 Comment

How time flies! I know I wrote the same thing with Allie. I’m not sure time flies any faster than the first month with a new baby.
069 070
We’re having more awake time each day. We’re also having more fussy time. And the fussy time has led to too much awake time a few days and nights, which has led to a frazzled Mama and Dada.
009
He’s starting to get chubby! I tried to get his unofficial weight today and came up with somewhere around 8 pounds. So he’s still smaller than Allie was at birth! But I was surprised to realize the other day he is starting to outgrow some of the newborn-size sleepers.
007
Like his sister, he’s not a huge fan of tummy time. I think it depends on when we try to do it.
002
Some, or perhaps all of his fussiness is stemming from gas issues, which I know is common in babies. I put him in the swing today for the first time and he promptly went to sleep. As much as I don’t want to set the precendent, I think we will put him in the swing to try and get some sleep at night if necessary. The other day/night, he was up for most of 15 hours. By most of, I mean he did sleep a bit, but no good long stretch.
006
What I’m realizing is we thought we had it pretty easy the first month. The last few days we’re finding its no longer easy. But I still wouldn’t trade it. When he’s awake and not fussing, he’s getting more interactive. He makes some great faces. This afternoon we had a long awake time without him being fussy, but by the time I got the camera out he was sleepy.

Dada gave Peyton his first bottle today and he gulped it all up. Thats a relief because I didn’t know how different it would be since with Allie had to introduce the bottle when she was only a few days. I’ve heard it can be really hard when you wait longer to do that.

Its so hard to believe its already been a month. I only have two weeks left of maternity leave. Hopefully in the next few weeks we’ll get a better idea of how to function when work is involved.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “One month old!

  1. What a cutie! I know every kid is different, but I wouldn’t worry too much about letting him sleep in the swing if it means you get more sleep. I bet he’ll transition to his crib just fine (…says the mom who breaks all the sleep rules).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 233 other followers