Life as we know it

Our family adventures

I was incorrect

Leave a comment

So I wrote in my first blog entry that I do not personally know anyone affected by cancer. I meant blood cancer. My grandma on my mom’s side died of cancer when I was still pretty young. And Doug has had skin cancer a few years ago before we started dating. And there may be others I don’t know about. But I just found out last night my family has been affected by blood cancer too. My grandpa on my mom’s side, who died at Christmas time my sophomore year in college, died of myeloma. I had always thought it was something else. So I have been affected by blood cancer.

But in my original post I wasn’t aware of that. So this new knowledge makes me even more determined to reach my goal of running a half marathon and raising money for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society.

I have finally finished my fundraising letters and pledge cards. I need to assemble my address list and get some envelopes and start working on them. The letters are printed and the date on them is this Monday, so thats my deadline. Then I need to figure out what other strategies to use.

My first group workout for Team in Training is Saturday. I’m not sure how it will go, which is making me a little nervous. Yesterday I decided to run on the treadmill and see how long I could go and I ran 39 minutes almost continuously. I only took two small breaks during that time. And after I stopped running I walked to finish an hour. Total mileage was not quite 4 and a half miles.

But then later in the evening I started feeling really ill. Like I had eaten some bad food. But everything I ate was fine. While it could have been a flu bug, I don’t think it was because it has gone away very quickly. In fact I felt a lot better this morning. I’m thinking I might have actually brought it on myself with my hard workout yesterday. And that makes me wonder how the heck I’m going to run 13.1 miles if I made myself sick running/walking 4. I guess I’ll start learning that on Saturday. My theory is I either drank too much or not enough water or maybe I didn’t eat enough. I don’t know. I still know nothing about how I need to change my routine to become a long-distance runner.

I have tried logging onto the team in training web site and I can’t get onto it. There must be so many people getting started with the summer season that its jammed! I can’t work on my fundraising page either. This is awesome. To have that many people. This is a very far-reaching program. I am so excited to be a part of it.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

