Life as we know it

Our family adventures

I think I’m becoming an athlete

Leave a comment

I keep looking at my body in amazement. In the last year I have lost 41 pounds. Last March I weighed 220 pounds. This week I weigh 179.

Last year I was exercising but still gaining weight. I started seeing my nutritionist and she figured I was eating too many carbs. I started on my carb-controlling diet along with exercise and the weight just rolled off! Well, it didn’t roll off. At least not all at once. I hit a couple humps… usually times when I was going out to eat too much and not really sticking to my limit.

I remember when my clothes started getting big… I was wearing size 18 jeans, then 16 and now mostly 14. But I have two pairs of size 12. That is a size I have never worn. I have been large my entire life. But now I’ve had to spend more money on clothes, not because I wanted to, but because I needed to. Clothes that are too big can look just as bad as clothes that are too small.

The day I got the flyer in the mail for team in training, I went to the gym and ran two miles on the treadmill, just to see if I could. It was hard, I just about died. I decided maybe I’d do the team in training thing some day, but maybe I’d run a few 5Ks first. But a funny thing happened. I ran two miles again. Then I mentioned the idea of running a marathon to Doug and some of my friends. They all thought I should go for it. I thought I should go for it. I ran another 2 miles and felt like I could do anything. I made sure it fit with my work schedule and then TA DA, I became a part of the great program and raising money for a really worthy cause.

I have since increased my mileage beyond where I thought I could. I have run 4 miles on the treadmill three times and I’m looking to run 5 this weekend. I am aching for the snow to melt so I can get outside. I spent my allowance on a new pair of running shoes and I can’t wait to use them.

My body is changing. I’m still chunky, but I can see the muscles changing shape. And beyond seeing a change, I feel a change. I feel like I really am an athlete. I’ve never been an athlete. I’ve never been part of any kind of organized sport. No after school sports in grade school. No teams in high school or intramurals in college. This is my first time. I’m ready. I feel like I can make my body do anything. I got home from my 4-miler last Saturday and I was ready for more!

I’ve only been involved in this program for just over three weeks. I’ve still got almost four months. But the benefits so far have just been phenominal. I can’t wait to see what the next four months bring.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

