Life as we know it

Our family adventures

I’ve logged 79 miles so far

Leave a comment

So one month in, I’ve run 79 miles. Some of those were easy, some hard. At this point I am very much undecided about whether I will ultimately enter the full marathon or half marathon. My longest run so far is seven miles.

I have two challenges looming. Well, more than two, but two I’m concentrating on right now. One being figuring out my diet, the other being solving my shoe dilemma.

I’ve been grocery shopping pretty well lately, and my main diet strategy so far is maintaining 180 grams of carbs a day most days, but just letting myself eat on long run days. It’s seemed to work. I’m burning a ton of calories on long run days, heck, I’m burning a lot of calories on shorter run days. My “shorter” runs are 5 miles! I never thought I’d say that! Anyway, I ate what I wanted Saturday and I still weigh the same as I did on Friday. So if I can continue limiting carbs most days I should still lose weight, even though I keep saying I’m going to shift my focus away from weight loss. I can’t help it though. I didn’t realize how much this diet was ingrained in me until I started finding out I’d have to change it.

The shoe challenge may or may not be solved. I am on my second pair of new running shoes. They seemed great until they started blistering my feet last week. I’ve decided now its because I forgot to wear my running socks twice last week, and that started the blisters. During my long run Saturday, the blisters got worse, causing a great deal of pain along with giving my my overdue bad workout. I just hope I don’t keep having bad workouts as I run farther.

I will spare the details on the blisters. Suffice it to say they are both popped and now gone. My feet still hurt because those spots are scabbing over. Since the blisters are gone, I decided to try running in the shoes again today and I did 5 miles fairly easily. So my theory is if I wear my running socks my feet should be fine. But me feet hurt because I’ve been walking funny the last week with the blisters. So my feet hurt now that I’m trying to walk normally again.

Each time its easier to run the miles. Although I have shortened my run/walk intervals from 5/1 to 4/2. I found that as I got farther, I got more fatigued. And I’m not running for time, but rather endurance. So I’d rather walk a little more and be out longer. Hopefully I won’t have to shorten the intervals any more. The new intervals still will get my my goal of getting 4.5 miles each hour, finishing the marathon in under six hours.

I’m hoping to start running outside in the next week or so. Its getting a little milder in the afternoons most days now. By milder I mean temps around 32… but with the sun out it does seem almost pleasant. So I’m going to try to head out and see if I can do it. There’s a 5K race that was supposed to be two weeks ago, but it was canceled because of snow. The group was going to run in that race, which is rescheduled in two weeks. I’m hoping I can get out with my group for that race, and a few others I’d like to do on my own.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

