Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Looking forward to my rest day!

Leave a comment

I ran 8 miles today! I keep surprising myself with what I can do. I usually do my long run on Saturdays, but I’m going out of town this weekend so I did my long run today. And this one was so much better than my last one. When I did 7 miles last Saturday I was so fatigued and I was having my blister problems and all that. But today I felt pretty good almost the whole time.

Toward the beginning my legs felt like bricks. I think its because I ran yesterday. I try to skip a day in between runs and definitely before my long run. But I ran through it and then I got this second wind around mile 6.5. And it was easier getting to 6 miles than it has been yet. I can definintely see improvement.

Overall I see myself getting stronger. I like it. But I’m looking forward to my rest day tomorrow, even though I will be sitting in a car for seven hours. Luckily I’m not too sore so I shouldn’t be too uncomfortable sitting that long, and we will be stopping along the way. We’re driving down to Carbondale, but on the way we’re dropping the dog off at my parents’ house and having lunch with my best friend in Champaign.

High temperatures in Carbondale this weekend are supposed to be in the 50s. Maybe even 60. It kinda makes me wish I still lived there… a little. Anyway, I’m looking forward to doing my first outdoor run on Saturday. Hopefully I can do 3 or 4 miles, but I’m not going to hold myself to that just because I haven’t run outside in months so I know it could be tough. If I get up early enough on Sunday I may run outside again!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

