Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Nine miles yesterday! and other triumphs

Leave a comment

I did my long run on Friday instead of Saturday this week. And my long run now is nine miles! I keep amazing myself with what I can do. My new shoes seemed pretty good too. I need to run in them a few more times to be sure though. I’m just encouraged by the fact I didn’t totally rule them out after one run. My feet hurt a little like the did in the last pair, but not as bad, and it was only as I got toward the end. I know my feet are going to hurt a little. I DID run nine miles!

The nine miles I did in two hours are a little more than one-third of the total marathon. I’ve got 11 more weeks of training. I think I’m going to make it.

One sort of unrelated item to share: For the first time in a very LONG time, I am not obese anymore. My body mass index is now overweight. This is a big deal to me. Yes overweight is still unhealthy, but its better than being obese!

I had hoped I would be able to run outside today. A few people from my group ran the rescheduled Valentine’s 5K. They also ran 5 miles before! I was bummed I couldn’t. Instead, I helped with TNT promotion instead, giving out chapstick, water bottles and power bars to runners. And then we walked out to the finish line to cheer on our group. It was a lot of fun and I got to talk to people in my group more.

I am encouraged in my fundraising. I got a fundraising credit for helping with the race stuff today and I now have raised $955, for 25% of my goal! Only $2,845 to go! Geez that sounds like a lot.

So as you can probably tell, I’m in a lot better mood than I’ve been in the last few days. It helps that the sun is out. The weather is supposed to warm up this week, and I’m definitely ready for it.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

