Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Long run Friday

Leave a comment

I ran 10.3 miles today, and boy was it long! It took two hours and 24 minutes. But I’ll be on that marathon course for six hours! The amount of time is starting to intimidate me a little. I’m not too sure how to combat that.

I used my new Garmin Forerunner 205 gps watch and that thing is awesome. But it didn’t seem to want to talk to my computer. So I wasn’t able to download my planned run route onto it and I actually got a little lost during the run! I took a printed map with me and it didn’t help much. The real problem was that I had to change my route when I lost the sidewalk on a fairly busy road. So really, having the route on the gps wouldn’t have helped.

My running pace, surprisingly, was between 12- and 13-minute miles the whole way. I set my intervals to five minutes running with two minutes walking. All combined my mile time was about 14 minutes.

Running outside, especially 10 miles, is much more enjoyable than the treadmill. But its most certainly different. Overall not too bad. I’m sore, but not much worse than a treadmill run. I don’t know what kind of workout I’ll do tomorrow. I would like to do something short on the treadmill and then some strength training. I’m starting to see the results from that. I may skip the treadmill and just do strength. I’ll have to see how I feel when I get there.

But I am absolutely exhausted. I wrote last night about how tired I was … so I slept a little too late this morning. I awoke refreshed, but that was wiped out after my long run. I don’t know if I’ll get to a point where I don’t get this tired on my long runs.

I’m afraid I’ll sleep for two days after the marathon! We’re staying in San Diego for four days and I’ll spend two of them sleeping! I sure hope this gets better.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

