Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Shamrock Shuffle

Leave a comment

I ran the Shamrock Shuffle 5K race on Sunday. It was my first race of any kind in two years. I ran a couple 5Ks when I lived in Carbondale, when I was just starting to run. I don’t remember my time from the second one. In my first one, which was the first Ethnic Festival 5K, I ran in 38:34. I wasn’t sure what kind of time I’d get this time. I thought it would be in the 38-minute mark.

But I crossed the finish line in 35 minutes! There was a 10K that started 5 minutes before the 5K. When I crossed the starting line, the clock said 6-something. And when I crossed the finish, it said 41:15. So I surprised myself by running the 5K in around 35 minutes.

Later in the day I checked my official time on the Shamrock Shuffle Web site, and imagine my surprise when it said 34 minutes and 56 seconds! I thought I was around 35, but I didn’t think I’d be under, even if it was only 4 seconds.

My time reflected an 11:15 per mile pace. Thats very fast for me. I usually run between 12:30 and 13:30. With my walking intervals, its closer to 14 minutes. So 11:15 is astonishing.

After the race Doug and I had lunch at the Great Dane, our favorite restaurant, with two other TNT girls and their significant others. We all had a beer in honor of St. Patty’s day, and got to know one another. It was so much fun! One of the reasons I joined TNT was to make some friends, and I’m happy that is finally happening.

Hopefully this weekend I can run outside with the group and get to know some more of my teammates!

One more sidenote: I don’t think I actually reported this here, but my fourth pair of running shoes was the charm! I’m surprised I didn’t mention it since I’ve spent a lot of time writing about my shoe drama. I was giving them time to prove themselves, and they did! I’ve done two long runs in them and one race. So now my training can really take off!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

