Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Inspiration

Leave a comment

Training for a marathon is a very inspirational experience, I’m finding. Its inspirational in the cause I am raising money for, and in the changes I’m seeing in my body, and what my body can do!

I had another one of those moments today where I realized I’m truly loving my body
for probably the first time ever. Its tough to spend your entire life hating your body. I’m only realizing now how tough it was. Knowing that is keeping me focused on continuing to lose the weight and train for the marathon.

I guess I’m also inspiring to other people. I have a coworker who said I’ve inspired him to run more and get in better shape. It makes me feel good to know I’m having this influence on people! Everyone is so interested in hearing about my progress.

Though I am inspired through my training experience, I do still have those days where I’d rather sleep or be doing something else other than running. Or the times when I’d like to eat those cookies or that ice cream. But then I remember what I’m doing, where I’ve been and where I’m headed. And I remember all the people who are rooting for me. My biggest fear is disappointing them.

Even though I’ve been married since September, I still maintain a profile on the brides.com community. The reason why is the women I have come to know on a thread started over a year ago for women to unite and help each other in our quests to reach our weight loss/general health goals. We call it our overweight but inspired thread. In there we help each other and we share our triumphs and our disappointments. We inspire each other daily!

I can honestly say these women are my friends. I have never met any of them face to face. I’m not even sure I’ve seen pictures of all of them. Yet several of them have donated to my Team in Training effort. A few others have said they will. There are a few who have talked about meeting me at the marathon finish line.

At the very beginning of this journey, when I was trying to decide if I should do it or not, the inspired thread women were the ones who really helped me make my decision. I am constantly encouraged by them. Before people really started talking to me about my quest, sometimes it seemed like they were the only ones who cared.

I’m not going to lie. I thought about quitting TNT. I was, and still am, very nervous about raising the money. But not only would I disappoint myself, I would disappoint those who have already donated to this wonderful cause, and I would disappoint my inspired women!

So this is my official shoutout to my inspired women, and all my coworkers and family members who care about my journey. You say I’m inspiring you. Well, you are all inspiring me too! THANK YOU for that. It means a lot. Keep talking to me about my goal and keep me inspired. I can’t do it alone.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

