Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Taking some time off

Leave a comment

I’ve come to the conclusion that my achilles is not badly injured. Heck, I’m not sure if I really consider it injured yet. But in an effort to keep it from getting worse, I’m taking a few days off from running. I had a complete rest day today but tomorrow I’ll have spin class and Friday I might try to swim. I’m going to work on stretching and icing my achilles.

It was so hard to not exercise today, especially because it was so nice outside. But I have to.

My ankles and calves are both sore today too. I’ve been doing some lower leg strengthening exercises, which should help my achilles. But I have overdone the exercises, hence the soreness. Thats why I just took today totally off.

My plan is to not run for three days and hopefully run on Saturday in the 10-mile race my TNT group is doing. When I run again I will hopefully warm up and stretch enough that it doesn’t make my achilles any worse.

I figured out what I think caused the injury. When I run around my neighborhood, the way I usually start my run is uphill. And when I start running I always start too fast. So I think thats what has caused this. Once I start running again I need to try and avoid hills for awhile. I also need to walk slower to give myself a good warmup before I start running. I’m not sure how to avoid hills though becuase there are hills everywhere! The arboretum route is mostly flat so I suppose I can run that route. I can also use the treadmill.

I’m trying not to get discouraged by this. I need to do this. If I didn’t I could make it worse and that would be even more frustrating. I’m still far enough out from the marathon that I shouldn’t lose much ground in my training. I will lose ground if I just keep going and make things worse though. Thats what I keep telling myself.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

