Life as we know it

Our family adventures

61 degrees!

Leave a comment

I am so glad I wasn’t too sore from yesterday’s race to run today. It was 61 and sunny and not too windy… the kind of day where you can’t NOT go outside! Doug and I went to the arboretum and I walked with him for a mile as my warmup. Then he turned around to finish his two miles of walking and I ran another mile before I turned around and ran back, so I got 3.5 running miles in today, 4.5 if I count the warmup.

I still wore long sleeves though because of the wind. I actually got hot at times, but then the wind would kick in. I don’t know why its been so windy lately. But I’m just so happy that winter seems to finally be gone. Even the last of the snow in the center of our condo association driveway is almost gone, and thats where they stacked it all, so there was a lot. I don’t know if I should still try and use the treadmill every so often to help my achilles. Its going to be hard to stay inside.

So it seems like walking a mile to warm up has helped me. I have minimal soreness in the achilles/lower leg after my run. And thats good because my left achilles has decided to act up too (it was just my right before). I’m sure its because of the areas where the road was slanted during the race. Booooo. But there’s an area of slanted road in San Diego too.

The key for getting a proper warmup in will be budgeting my time accordingly! Walking a mile to warm up will take about 20 minutes more but it will be worth it! I just have trouble budgeting my time sometimes.

Although I think I have the achilles situation under control, this week I’m going to look into what our health insurance covers in the sports medicine/physical therapy realms. I want to make sure my injury isn’t too bad and also learn how to best take care of it.

But as long as I feel OK, I’m going to take advantage of this beautiful weather and run outside!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

