Life as we know it

Our family adventures

No time

Leave a comment

This has been a busy week. And its only Wednesday.

I didn’t get to do my long run this morning because there’s no way I can wake up before 9 a.m., and when I called the appliance service, the woman who answered ended up changing the repair man’s schedule somehow so he would be there “between 12:30 and 2:30” (instead of between 1:30 and 3:30) since I had to get to work early today. So I had two hours between 10 and noon to run.

So I ran 8 miles around the arboretum instead of 16. I wasn’t too crazy about doing my long run so early in the week anyway. It was a great run until the last mile. I found that even on my middle distance runs (7-10 miles) I still need to take a gel or sports beans pack with me. I got pretty tired and sore the last mile and that doesn’t usually happen. I guess it was a good thing to learn and see what a difference the gels actually make.

Now I have two options but really probably only one. Early Friday morning (or is it Thursday morning? I can’t remember now) the forecast calls for either no rain or isolated or few showers. Unfortunately its from like 6-11, which is way earlier than I want to wake up. So I think my only real option is to run 12-16 miles on the treadmill.

The longest distance I’ve done on the treadmill is 9 miles. It took two hours, whereas 16 miles will take about three hours and 45 minutes. I think my option is to run an hour on the treadmill and get off to fuel, then another hour, get off and fuel, and then a third hour. I’ll use a different treadmill each time. See, the YMCA has all these signes posted saying “30-minute time limit on cardio equipment.”

Yes, I have used it for two hours at a time, but I think after four hours people will be asking questions. They would be easy enough to answer, but I’d just rather not be bothered. And I wouldn’t technically be monopolizing too much time on one particular treadmill. So with this method hopefully I won’t be THAT noticeable as the weirdo who’s been running for four hours.

The plan for the rest of the week is spin class Thursday, long run on Friday and then a short run between three and five miles, depending on what I feel like, what I did on Friday and how sore I am, and how much time I have.

And after my short run on Saturday morning I’m off to Chicago for my best friend’s bachelorette party! I am SO excited, except that I’m realizing I don’t have really good clothes for going out anymore. I haven’t gone out in such a long time, and with losing all my weight along with the lack of cash to buy new clothes, I don’t have anything to wear thats not baggy! Its a great problem to have, but I don’t really have a way to solve it in the next two days.

I wanted to mention that I have been very encouraged with my fundraising progress in the last week or so. I’m starting to breathe a sigh of relief because I am starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel. Its still pretty dim, but I know its there! If you haven’t donated yet, will you consider it? And if you have, I THANK you very much!

One more thing, I want to give a shout out to everyone who reads my babble every day! Or every other day, or even not very consistently. Its you readers and donors who are helping me stay motivated!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

