Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Another good run, but now I worry

Leave a comment

I ran 6 beautiful miles in the warm sun this afternoon. I was pretty tired by the end, but overall a great run. But, note to self: Don’t wear shorts again until I purchase some body glide!

A great run, followed by worry. I’m worried the neuroma pain will come back. I was worried on Saturday too. I don’t know how long I will worry like this. Its a paranoia that I’m afraid to get up and walk around for fear I will feel the neuroma pain! Am I crazy?

Complicating the problem is the blister I have from wearing the pad in my shoe. I walk differently when I have a blister, unfortunately. And other areas of my foot hurt, so whenever I feel anything, I quickly scan to make sure its not the neuroma.

Maybe I’m getting a little neurotic over this, but I just can’t stop. What I’m especailly afraid of is what will happen if the pain does come back. I’m wearing the generic orthotics right now, so maybe I just won’t worry until I get the custom orthotics? Who knows, maybe a neuroma is just something that will flare every so often and I just need to learn how to manage it.

Another funny thing I’m finding as I ease back into running… I can run the distances still. But my body is reacting like it did at the beginning of training. So that means I am both starving and sleepy as I write this. Before my break I only got hungry and sleepy like this when I ran 12 miles or more. Now apparently it will be every time! My legs are also sore! I don’t know if I’ll be able to do a short run Wednesday and then long run Thursday. But thats how I have to do it because of going out of town this weekend, so we’ll see.

I just wrapped up a fantastic fundraising week, raising $635! My total is now $2,455. I sure hope that momentum continues! Its been incredible. I am starting to see the light at the end of the fundraising tunnel! The light at the end of the training tunnel is still kind of dim though. Only six weeks to go!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

