Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Back to the half

Leave a comment

So I’ve been putting off writing this post, as if its not official until I write about it. But I have switched my event registration to the half marathon. If this neuroma had reared its ugly head just one or two weeks earlier, maybe I would have been left with enough training time. But right now there just isn’t enough time and I think if I pushed to stay with the full, I will either end up hurt, or hating running all together.

I don’t want to get hurt and I don’t want to hate running!

I just got too far behind to safely log all the miles I had left. I had long runs left of 16, 18 and 20 miles. And I recently found out the long run is only supposed to be one-third of your total miles for the week. Considering I got myself into this injury mess from overtraining in the first place, it really is an easy decision to make to switch back to the half. But that doesn’t mean I like it.

There were so many reasons to switch, and not many to stick with the full, but I will admit I am still a bit disappointed I wasn’t able to stay with the full. But at the same time, the half is still a great accomplishment and it doesn’t change my fundraising focus.

On the fundraising, this week I’m all about my garage sale. I’m doing it on Friday in conjunction with our neighborhood garage sale. I don’t have time to do it Saturday though. I might do it again the following weekend if I still have a lot left at the end of this one.

I am seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. I only have about $950 left to raise. Its so surreal to me that I’ve almost made it. I was stuck at only $900 raised for a long time, or at least it seemed like a long time. Now $950 is all I have left!

A little more than a month out, I am itching to get to the starting line. The neuroma is fine and I expect to get my custom orthotics this week. I am more confident every run though.

The Lake Monona 20K is on Saturday, which is why I can’t have the garage sale that day. I’m a little nervous since between my injury and being sick I haven’t logged a ton of miles lately. I ran 4.5 miles yesterday though, and I’m hoping to run 10 miles tomorrow and 6 or so Thursday. Hopefully that will get me ready enough!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

