Life as we know it

Our family adventures

A discovery, but too bad I didn’t learn this sooner

1 Comment

No sooner does my neuroma stuff go away then my achilles starts acting up again.

I skipped my run Wednesday because it was sore from Monday’s run. I may have made it more sore when I tried to massage it in the hot tub at the Y!

At any rate, it was sore even when I left to run today but I was determined to do something.

I started my run really slow, in fact I walked most of the first mile. I took frequent breaks to stretch my achilles and also my IT bands. I started running a little and it felt OK. I started running more and held back, still taking breaks to stretch, and it kept feeling OK.

I discovered that maybe I run too fast in my normal training runs! I wouldn’t be surprised if thats what has caused my feet and leg issues in the first place!

During today’s run, I kept my running intervals between 12 and 12:30/mile pace. My usual speed is about an 11:15 to 11:30/mile pace. Thats also my race pace, coincidentally.

I ran 6.2 miles and it took about 10 minutes longer than my usual, but this was definitely one of my better training runs. In fact, I had a bit of a time crunch, but I felt so good I just had to go an extra mile.

So knowing this, I hope to take these last 10 days before the taper easy enough to keep my achilles from getting worse and to keep any other injury from showing up!

I just wish I had discovered this before. Oh, I’m kicking myself over this, really. To think I could have avoided all these issues if I had just run slower! I always acknowledged that I ran too fast and I had a hard time slowing down. But I really thought I just started too fast and it was OK to go hard and fast like that all the time.

I have heard the terms tempo runs and speedwork. And I know there is a place for running faster in training. I guess I must have been doing speedwork all along!

With this new knowledge I’m really hoping I can still squeeze in two more long runs. My discovery of the benefits of running slower combined with the new shoes I plan to get this weekend or early next week should hopefully make the last of my training dynamite!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “A discovery, but too bad I didn’t learn this sooner

  1. Finding the right combination of pace and stretching is so personal – I bet it feels good to have found a combination that works for you. I have had some similar issues, especially with my hip and IT band and found daily stretching, targeted strength training and new shoes worked for me. Good luck with your running!Amyblog.runnerslounge.comwww.runnerslounge.com

Leave a Reply

