Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Final long run

Leave a comment

I did my final long run this afternoon and I am pleased with the results.

I ran 12 miles even though the training plan only goes up to 10. I wanted to test out my endurance and the orthotics as close to the race distance as possible… but going the full 13.1 just seemed cruel.

Anyway, I’m happy to report both my endurance and the orthotics are great! I am sore, of course, but my endurance has improved since the Lake Monona 20K two weeks ago. And my orthotics didn’t give me anymore trouble than regular shoes would have. My feet were sore afterward… but I did run 12 miles.

I’m still breaking in the orthotics. I’ve gone away from the schedule a little since I’ve done such heavy runs. I’ve only worn them for the runs (about an hour and a half on day two and three hours on day three, or, today). Day three on the schedule is four hours. I’m not concerned about that though. My biggest concern was how they would feel on the long run and they are GREAT!

So I switched my plans and did my final long run this afternoon instead of tomorrow because I have my first PT appointment tomorrow. I’m betting the achilles will be sore after (as demonstrated by the soreness after seeing the doctor on Monday), and thus maybe it won’t be a good thing to run 12 miles. Instead of swimming today I will swim tomorrow instead. Then on Saturday I will run 3 or 4 miles.

Next week starts the taper!! For next week it looks like I’ll run as many miles as I did this week, but without the long run. Then the week after that I’ll cut my miles in half. I’ll really have to hold myself back though to keep from going over.

I’m honestly not sure if its really necessary to taper for a half. But considering my injury history, maybe its not such a bad thing to decrease the miles!

Doug and I are starting to really plan our trip. We’re both itching to be done working. I am so exciting that this goal I have set for myself is almost here, almost complete. And I am definitely enjoying the ride!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

