Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Silly thoughts

1 Comment

My half marathon is in eight days. I have been tapering for a week now. My short runs have been very good, but now I’m starting to psych myself out a bit. I’m afraid that since I’m running shorter distances in the two weeks before the race that when its time to race my body will just decide its done after six miles!

But really, I know that won’t happen. I did multiple runs of 10 miles or more, some of them several weeks apart. My body didn’t stop. And I’m sure whoever came up with any of the multiple marathon and half marathon training programs is smarter than me. People have been training this way long before I started running. There’s obviously merit to the taper.

Unfortunately that doesn’t stop the crazy thoughts rolling around in my head!

Doug and I went to the race expo today to pick up my race number, chip, T-shirt and other assorted goodies. The chip for this race is one you actually attach to your shoe. My other races with chips were velcro straps that went around the ankle. I’m glad I’m doing this race now because I think this is the kind of chip I’ll be using in San Diego.

Another reason I’m glad I’m running this race is I only just realized today how early we’ll have to get up and the logistics of getting to the starting line. My race starts at 7:45, but the other races start at 7:10 and 7:30. So ideally I need to get to the starting line by 7. We’re going to park at the finish and take the shuttle to the start, so we need to get there around 6:30 to catch the shuttle. So we need to leave our house around 6:15, which leaves us with a wake-up time around 5 a.m.!

After today I only have three more days until vacation. I am so looking forward to not working for 13 days.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Silly thoughts

  1. “Taper madness”! There is a reason it is called by such a name. As hard as it is, it does the legs and body wonders for the race. Good luck and enjoy the taper! I always try to get out and do things I don’t usually have time for.Amywww.runnerslounge.comblog.runnerslounge.com

Leave a Reply

