Life as we know it

Our family adventures

I need a race to train for!

Leave a comment

I’ve been looking through assorted race calendars to find my next training challenge. I’m realizing I need something else to train for or else my motivation and discipline will go away fast. I’m not worried right now, I’m just easing back into running. But I can see myself getting lazy in the near future.

Problem is, nothing is really drawing my interest. I think I’m still in the let down phase from my incredible first half. Nothing will be as exciting as that!

There aren’t many races until the end of July and August. I don’t know how wise it is to do many races in August, with the likely heat and humidity. The other problem is these races cost money to enter, and I don’t have much of that right now.

I’m considering three half marathons. The first is in Oconomowoc on Aug. 30. I don’t know if that is too soon, not to mention I would have to pay for it sooner. The second is the Fox Cities half on Sept. 21. That one really would be ideal, I have heard it is a great race. But its farther away and we might not have money to travel. And the third is near Lake Mills on Nov. 10, but that one holds the possibility of weather being too cold! Its also the most expensive.

So what do I do? I’m putting any decisions off for at least a week or so until I get an idea of what it will take to rehab my achilles tendon. After that I’ll decide what my training goal needs to be. And hopefully by that time Doug and I will have a better idea of our money situation.

In the mean time, I want to enter a few other races, but I don’t have enough money. Boo money, I say. I’m interested in a 5K July 13, just because its the first one I can find. Its also benefitting Girls on the Run, a nonprofit encouraging girls to run! Then there’s something every week starting the last weekend in July.

I know I’ll find something. I just need to get a handle on things and make a decision!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

