Life as we know it

Our family adventures

What I have learned from Team in Training

Leave a comment

1.) I really can do anything. I’ve written this over and over, but its so true! I know that when I feel ready to take on a full marathon challenge, I can do it. I know when the time comes for Doug and I to start our family, I can do it.

Its just amazing the new confidence I have found.

2.) I can do anything, but I can’t do it by myself. I had several times during my training when I might have quit if I had been on my own. I had trouble finding a good pair of shoes, dealing with blisters, asthma, injury and more. The network of support I got from Team in Training got me through it, as did all the encouragement I got from everyone I know!

As I start training for my next half, I am more on my own. But I’ve still got my friends from Team in Training, as well as a great group of women on runnersworld.com, who will help me.

3.) Fundraising is hard. In the past, when I would get letters from friends, agencies or even complete strangers requesting a donation for something, I would just throw them away. Often when driving around town I’ll see groups holding a car wash or a brat stand, the very fundraisers I held, to raise money. I’m certainly thankful that many of my letters didn’t get thrown away and that people came to my fundraisers.

Definitely in the future, when I get a request like that, I will do my best to give. When I see a brat stand, I will try to stop even if I have something cheaper at home. I’ll get my car washed, even if its supposed to rain later. This is hard work, but fulfilling, and I will do my best to help someone else reach their goal.

4.) I can inspire people! When I started this adventure, it really didn’t seem like a big deal. I was going to try to raise money and I was going to run a half marathon. I had no idea so many people would care as much as they did, or be inspired to maybe do something they didn’t think they could. Thats an incredible feeling!

My time as a Team in Training active participant has come to a close, but I plan on being an active alumni participant. Or at least as active as I can be without fundraising. I will contribute what I can to other people, but I will not undertake that kind of project again. Once was enough. But I will gladly run with the group and volunteer to support long runs (even though it will mean more Saturdays of getting up at 6 a.m. or earlier!) and I will talk up TNT to anyone who will listen!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

