Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Busy weekend

Leave a comment

I had Saturday and Sunday off, a much-needed break before heading into a really busy week.

On Saturday Doug and I went to the Brewers game, our first time there this year! And they won too, which was awesome.

Saturday was perfect, except that we started too late and ended up missing the farmers’ market. We also waited about an hour to travel roughly 9 miles on I-94, through the area where the bridges were flooded. Luckily we had left early enough that we just hurried through our dinner and barely missed the beginning of the game.

I was hoping to get up early for my long run. While I got up somewhat early, it took awhile to get started. I didn’t start my run until 9:30 so I didn’t finish until almost noon! Thus, we missed the farmers market. We made the trip downtown, and even though there was still a half hour, all the vendors were packing up. So we walked down State Street and got ice cream instead.

Anyway, I am very happy to be back into full training mode. My mileage last week was 20, and I’m going for 22 this week. I’m doing this the right way this time and only increasing my miles by 10 percent each week. This mileage does seem kind of low, and I’ve thought about going right back to my 25-mile range I had before the race. But I really think its ultimately better to take it slow. No more injuries!

Saturday I ran a great 8.2 miles. I did have a little hamstring soreness later in the night, but it didn’t last. I ate pretty well that day too.

And today I ran another, mostly great, 5.1 miles. I’m finding though that the hotter weather zaps my energy more and I need to use gels more often during my run. I’ll have to make sure to do that Wednesday.

With my good runs in the last week, I am officially declaring myself recovered from the half marathon!

Since I’m taking it easy on the mileage, I’m working on my intervals. Increasing my running intervals from five minutes to six has worked well. I ran those intervals both Saturday and today and felt fine. I still haven’t been able to determine if I’m any faster, but it seems like I should be since I’m walking less overall.

My next goal for my 5K in three weeks is to see if I can increase my running time to minimize walk breaks for the 5K. We’ll see. I think its best to stick with one thing at a time.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

