Life as we know it

Our family adventures

I discovered a new trail today

Leave a comment

Whenever I drove to the arboretum, I always noticed a bike path and parking area along the way. Today I decided to check out that path and discovered it is the Capital City trail.

I ran the segment between Verona Road and Fish Hatchery Road and I really enjoyed it. After studying the map, I saw how all the trails connect and found I can start on this trail and go as far as I want in pretty much any direction.

The thing that stinks about the bike trails here in Madison is you have to pay to use them. But that does not go for people using their legs to propel them!

Anyway, I usually run the Military Ridge trail (which does connect to the Capital City trail) and the arboretum loop. Those have gotten somewhat boring and I was hoping to find something else to vary the scenery. This will do it! It will be great for long runs.

Today in my excitement (and because I run farther on my longer intervals), I ran 6.25 miles instead of my planned 5 miles. I wanted to see where the path goes! It was really pretty. It looped through nice neighborhoods (like, million-dollar home neighborhoods) and then some more forest-type areas. I like it. It was a great run today too, so even better!

Its too bad I don’t live near one of these paths. I guess I do live near it, but it would be quite a distance to run to the path. Not to mention dealing with a high traffic area. So for now at least I will drive to the bike paths. It could be a possibility for a long run.

Next time I want to take the Southwest Bike Path that branches off from the Capital City trail.

In order to cut down the boredom, I also want to run the Lake Monona loop some more. I’ll run that loop when I get to my 12 mile run.

My training is going well so far. I am starting the third week. I decided to go with the Runner’s World smart coach program, where I enter my goals and what kind of training I want and it gives me a program. I’m modifying it a bit to add 2 miles each week instead of 1.

Don’t worry, I’m sticking to the 10 percent rule.

In other news, I have found my new project. It will definitely take some time and be very slow going because it will get expensive and I might have to pay for most of it myself.

I’ve been watching a lot of HGTV lately, and as a result, I’ve been bit by the home improvement bug! I realize we have to improve our house to get maximum dollar when its time to sell. And I don’t want to wait until we sell to do it! I want to enjoy it too!

I have quite a list of things I want to do, and I can do many of them myself. Top of the list is the add knobs to all the cabinets and drawers in my kitchen and bathrooms. The other top item is replacing the shades in our bedroom with nice curtains. These are two of the things that have annoyed me most about our house, the current shades, and the fact there are no knobs.

And they work well as my first project because they should be the cheapest, and hopefully the easiest!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

