Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Injury recurrence?

Leave a comment

My right foot has been funky since my race on Friday. At first I thought it was the neuroma flaring up, but I’m really not sure. I honestly don’t remember clearly what area of my foot the neuroma was in. And my foot seems to go back and forth between hurting and not a lot.

It is so frustrating that I am doing everything right and I’m still bothered by this stuff. I’ve been taking it easy this week. I delayed my long run to Sunday since I had my race Friday. Then I rested on Monday because I was out all day. I also skipped my run yesterday even though the pain in my foot pretty much went away before lunch.

If it is the neuroma, I don’t know if this means the custom orthotics didn’t work for me and I need to try another treatment, or if its just going to flare up every once in awhile and I need to just take it easy until it goes away.

I’m not sure if I should just wait a few days and see what happens or if I should make a podiatrist appointment. If its the neuroma, its not as bad as it was before since the pain kind of comes and goes. But I’m tempted to make the appointment because it takes so long to get in.

But I do have a PT appointment tomorrow and sports medicine appointment Monday. Those are for the achilles, but I’m hoping I can ask about my foot as well.

In the mean time, I am experimenting with the original insoles of my running shoes. My orthotics don’t go all the way to the front of the shoe, I guess they aren’t the right size or something. I didn’t mess with it when I got them because I knew I wouldn’t get them back in time for the half marathon. So my toes hang over the edge, and I wonder if that squeezes them, which is one of the causes of the neuroma.

So I cut that piece out of the insoles and put them in the front of the shoe. I noticed the difference right away. I had that cushion there and if felt like my toes were in a more natural position.

I don’t know how long it will be before I know if this helps. I’m also icing my foot whenever I ice my achilles. My foot seems OK so far.

I am far enough out from the half marathon that I know I can still train fine if I miss a week or two, but I’d prefer not to. Instead, I’m taking it easy this week to see what happens. Next week is a cutback week on my training plan, but I’m going to make this week a cutback as well. Hopefully by the end of next week I’ll know whats going on.

I would like to sign up for my 10-mile race thats at the end of the month, but that will wait until I know my training status. I don’t want to pay for a race and not run it. I’m hoping that won’t happen this weekend with the 5K I paid for over a month ago!

In achilles news, I’ve graduated to 15 reps of my strengthening exercises! I still feel the achilles now and then, but its gotten to the point where I’m not as religious about the stretches because it doesn’t hurt anymore. Thats why my PT for my ankle years ago didn’t work! It didn’t hurt, so I didn’t do the exercises. I’m not even sure how long I’ll have to do the achilles exercises, but I really need to make sure I don’t stop.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

