Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Can’t do much til I get my shoes

Leave a comment

I’m a little frustrated, but I’m listening to my body better than ever, so I guess thats a good thing.

I ran 3 miles on Sunday and 3 miles today in my old shoes. I wanted to run 4 today, but I just didn’t feel comfortable. My knee felt like I was pushing it and I just felt the toll on my body a lot more than usual for that short distance.

And now tonight I’m just sitting here and my shins have been throbbing for about the last half hour.

So I’m not running another step until I get my new shoes. Cross training it is. And then I’m going to have to really evaluate how to proceed with the rest of my training. I could modify my program a bit, but my longest run would only be 10 miles. I could keep my current program and just run what I think I can handle.

I’ve gotten myself so psyched out with this whole knee thing and now the shoes are just adding to it. I’m starting to get a little nervous about whether I’ll be able to see this to the end.

I’m pinning a lot on the arrival of these shoes! If the new shoes and starting spin class again is all it takes to make this knee thing go away, I will be so excited. Hopefully the shoes will be the answer.

It wasn’t supposed to happen this way. I guess its my fault for using my shoes too long. My achilles and neuroma haven’t given me much trouble lately. If I hadn’t overused my shoes, I’d be just fine right now.

I read that knee trouble in women is often caused by our wide hips, not being in line with feet. Apparently this is compensated for with strong quads. And example given was cycling. That would make sense because this knee thing has come on since I stopped cycling in June. The next session starts in three weeks, and I’m already signed up. Its probably the earliest I’ve signed up for a class yet.

I really hate cycling when its not spin class, but I think I’ll do that tomorrow. I have to cross train, and I’ll do a lot of cross training this week, so I’ll start with the bike.

Crossing my fingers that my shoes come in the next few days. It was only supposed to take a week, and I ordered last Wednesday.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

