Life as we know it

Our family adventures

A funny race dream!

Leave a comment

I’m still chuckling at this dream I had this morning.

In my dream, the date is Sept. 6 and the time is 9:45 a.m. and I am at home (but its not my home, it looks more like the house I grew up in, actually). All of the sudden I realize its half marathon day and I need to get moving so I don’t miss the start. In the dream the start time was 11, I don’t know why, but it was. Despite the fact it will take two hours to get to Appleton, in my dream I thought it would only take one.

So I start running around trying to get dressed and call my friend who’s traveling with us. But I don’t have her phone number on me. Its in facebook though, so I try to sign on to facebook to get her number and let her know I’m coming to pick her up and we might be late for the race.

Only I couldn’t sign on to facebook. It wasn’t in my favorites and I kept trying to type it in the browse and it wouldn’t come up. I keep thinking to myself, “I wish this was a dream.” As the minutes tick by I consider driving up to Appleton without my friend and apologizing later. Slowly I realize I’m not going to make it either. Luckily then I woke up!

This dream was a little scary, actually. I swear it felt real! And I actually remembered it when I woke up, and it stayed with me all day. Rarely do I remember dreams when I wake up and not many stay with me this long. I don’t know what it means. A friend suggested race anxiety… but I’m not anxious for this race at all. I’m excited for it. I can’t wait.

The funny thing about the date and time is that Sept. 6 is the day of my 10K, though 11 a.m. is not the start time. I don’t know if it means something that my two races were intertwined in a dream. Maybe I’m just a little anxious about racing in general since its been over a month since my last race?

Either way its funny and I’m really glad it was just a dream.

In other news, both my lower hamstrings are sore tonight, but they were sore before my run. They got sore after I did my stretches last night. I’m not sure how that made them sore, but it did. I am hoping this doesn’t sideline me at all because I’m planning to do my 12-mile long run on Friday.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

