Life as we know it

Our family adventures

The taper is near

Leave a comment

And it may be nearer than I planned. I was planning on a two-week taper, but I have a 10K race next weekend that will likely make it difficult to do a long run as well. So as a result I’m considering a three-week taper.

I’m kind of bordering on burnout anyway. I don’t know. There are a bunch of diet and exercise-related things that are just kind of funky with me right now. All week I have wanted to sit on the couch watching TV more than exercise. I have exercised every day, but maybe that desire to sit on the couch is my body telling me to lay off.

Its just weird because I was so enthusiastic last week.

And with my whole diet limbo, I’m obsessed with eating. Its all I want to do. And not because I’m hungry. I still want to lose weight, but I’m not and thats frustrating too. Even though I’ve admitted its time to maintain, I’m having a hard time letting go.

I wrote a few days ago about how I’m looking forward to the slower days of September, but now I’m not so sure. I may need to find something to do thats not exercising.

But back to the issue at hand, I haven’t decided about the taper yet and I have no idea when or how I will decide. If I do a long run next week, it will be on Thursday. So I guess I’ll just see what I feel like when I wake up next Thursday morning!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

