Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Final, and fabulous, long run

Leave a comment

How often do people add a mile and a half to their planned long run because they’re enjoying it? Well, I did! I was feeling really good and I really loved the area I was running in, so I kept running.

I ended up running 12.5 miles though I had planned 11. I started on the Lake Monona loop but I was disappointed on that route because there was road (and sidewalk) construction that I couldn’t really see a good way through. So I turned around and ran back down and past my car and picked up that side of the Capital City Trail.

The weather today was absolutely beautiful. Yesterday’s high was 92, the first day the temp here has reached 90 all summer. But today’s high was 71. Not only that, it was in the mid-60s when I started and I was a little cold until I really started moving. Weird.

So anyway, the weather was a big part of why I had such a good run. My time for 12.5 miles was 2:38, which was faster than my 13-miler last week. On that pace I would have hit 13 around 2:44 and last week I did it in 2:51. I know I will run even faster at the race, so my goal of 2:35 (or at least beating 2:41) is totally reachable.

I have my 10K on Saturday and I’m pumped for going out to the Pancake Cafe afterward. I was looking forward to having wings and pretzels after the race at Quaker Steak & Lube where the race is being held, but it starts at 8, so it will be done before the restaurant is open. So instead its the Pancake Cafe, which we tried to go to on Monday, except that there were lots of people who decided to go out to breakfast on Labor Day (Perkins was just as crowded, but bigger so we got in sooner).

Anyway, now I’m in my taper. I’ll run the race on Saturday and then next week I’ll run pretty much the schedule I’ve been keeping, minus the long run. Three runs between 5 and 6 miles. The last week before the race I’ll probably cross train more and get in one or two runs of 3 to 4 miles.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

