Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Great expectations

Leave a comment

I have been excited for this half marathon for a long time. I hope I can make it live up to my expectations. But what are my expectations?

I expect another PR. Based on how I’ve been running lately, I expect a time of 2:30 to 2:35.

I expect to not have to stop for a bathroom break on the course!

I expect to have a good time with my friends who are running the race along with me and my family who is coming to cheer for me!

I expect good food at the finish, a cool medal and a cool tshirt. Those three things will determine if I run the race again.

This race feels more real than my first half marathon in San Diego. It means a lot to me. I feel a lot more prepared, and this is the race I trained for. Its a real half marathon course instead of just running the first 13.1 miles and stopping like San Diego.

The fatigue I felt at the beginning of the week is pretty well gone. I’m beefing up my carbs a bit and now just relaxing. My training is over. We’ll see in a couple days what my results are.

Its a little bittersweet. I’ve trained for this since mid-June. After this half marathon I can’t train for a big race until next spring. I’ll keep running but I am sure I will end up inside soon. I want to make this race count.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

