Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Not quite back on the road

Leave a comment

But I’m anxious to get there! I have already signed up for my next race, the first ever Gilda’s Run to benefit the new Gilda’s Club here in Madison. They have a 2-mile race and a 5-mile race, and I’m signed up for the 5 miler.

I find that I’m more partial to races that benefit something that has affected me, which is why I find myself entering all these small first-time races! The Fight for Life run was in memory of a woman who died of pulmonary fibrosis, which I don’t know the specifics on, but I know it affects breathing. And I like to breathe and its difficult for me sometimes.

Gilda’s Club is a place for cancer patients and their families to get support. I don’t have cancer, but I know I could have cancer one day. And I raised money for blood cancer through TNT, so this is a cause close to my heart as well.

Since I’m starting to think I can run in cooler temps than I used to, I thought I’d be OK to sign up for this race. I also picked out two others, the MATC Turkey Trot on Nov. 1 and Berbee Derby on Nov. 27. Those might be a little more dicey.

The Berbee Derby is a really popular local race, so I’d like to sign up early, but I just don’t know. I ran a couple days recently where it was a bit more chilly and I felt fine. Really I think I could run in temps as low as 40. I’ll see what I can really do and that’s something that will help me proceed with my future training.

I hope to train in the next three weeks to more running like I did in the half marathon. I wonder what my times will be like if I run without walking! Its an interesting question.

I went to spin class yesterday and then I swam today. Tomorrow is spin class again and I’m trying to decide what to do after that. I’m wondering if I’ve been a little too agressive in cross training this week. I’ll probably take Friday off and then do turbo kick or swimming Saturday and hopefully a run on Sunday, but I’m not going to push it. I keep saying that but I bet I probably will push it. It would just be weird to have a 0-mileage week!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

