Life as we know it

Our family adventures

My running potential

Leave a comment

I set my garmin to 5K with a time goal of 32 minutes today. And I beat that goal, running it in 30:54! Wow!

That will be astounding if I can run that time on Sunday. I never thought I could beat my previous PR of 31:33. That seemed faster than I could ever run, and now I’m faster.

I see so much potential in my running. I’m loving running the races and seeing my improvement. I am constantly changing my goals as I see that improvement. As I get better than I thought I could, I am not sure how high I should reach!

I got an email from Team in Training today about running the Green Bay marathon or half marathon as an alumni event. I’d love to do that but its two weeks before Madison. I don’t know which I’d rather do. Perhaps I could run the Green Bay half in preparation for the Madison full? Or do two halfs two weeks apart?

Of course its hard to make plans right now. I haven’t written on this blog about Doug and my efforts to get our family started. We were trying while I was training for Fox Cities too. It hasn’t happened yet.

I am of the attitude that I’m not going to let the possibility of pregnancy change my training until it happens and even then I might not have to. If I had been concerned about that before Fox Cities, I wouldn’t have run that race. Of course then I would have been disappointed since it didn’t happen. Many women run throughout pregnancy, and while I probably shouldn’t attempt a full during that time, a half could be possible.

But I don’t need to make my spring plans for awhile yet, and maybe I’ll get an answer before then. It all depends on the timing. I would start half/full marathon training in January or February and if it happens in November, obviously I would be too far along to take that on. If its not by January I’ll just have to make a decision and see what happens.

For right now I’m just going to continue training a bit more casually and to the specific races. Next week I will shift to the 5-miler. I’ll see how fast I could run 5 miles and if I could even do it without walking. Other possible races for the fall are another 5K on Nov. 1 and a 10K on Thanksgiving day.

I can’t wait to see how much more improvement I can make!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

