Life as we know it

Our family adventures

My training plans

Leave a comment

Starting next week, I am increasing my mileage again. By January I want to get up to a consistent 30 miles per week, and I want to run 10 to 13 miles without walk breaks. I ran 6 miles today without walk breaks, so 10 to 13 is a doable goal. Then I’ll start my marathon training in January.

Marathon training as in FULL marathon training. I’ve decided I don’t need to wait until September for my full marathon. I have plenty of time and I’m accumulating the experience, and my mileage base will be up by the time I start training. I’m going to run the Madison Marathon on May 24.

I had considered running the Green Bay marathon the week before with the Team in Training alumni, but really it just makes more sense to take advantage of the home race.

I’m skipping the MATC Turkey Trot on Saturday because that would have been my third race in three weeks. The last time I raced that much was in July, and that may or may not have contributed to my IT/knee issues that surfaced around that time.

The Berbee Derby on Thanksgiving day is my final race for the year. I am going to save my money to get the colder weather running gear so I can run that race, and outside in general. I really do think I can do it.

The first thing I need is a pair of gloves. Then a few more long sleeve shirts and a wind breaker. I need tights eventually, but I have discovered that layering a pair of capris with my long pants insulate my legs pretty well. And even if I can run outside in the cold, I don’t know that I would do it when its THAT cold anyway.

I also need new shoes again. I’m considering looking for a new shoe because I haven’t been a huge fan of the new style of the Brooks Dyad.

Anyway, with the gloves and windbreaker along with a proper warmup, I know I can do the Berbee Derby.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

