Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Question of the day: Will I really wear a shirt from a race I didn’t run in?

Leave a comment

When all was said and done, I’ve done my civic duty with this stress fracture. Two donations have been made, in the form of things I signed up for and didn’t participate in. My spin class, which benefits the Y’s Strong Kids Campaign, which ensures no child gets turned away from the YMCA. The other is the Berbee Derby. The race benefits the Technology Education Foundation.

But I found out today my money was well spent in addition to the donation, despite the fact I can’t run. I picked up my race packet at Fleet Feet Sports today, and I didn’t feel bad about it. I left my timing chip so I don’t have to send it back. And in my bag I got two shirts. The race shirt and a long sleeve Fleet Feet tech shirt. Both are nice shirts. The tag on the tech shirt said $30, and I basically got it from paying an extra $5 to register on the Fleet Feet team.

But now the dilemma: Will I really wear a shirt from a race I didn’t run? I suppose I will eventually. I am a big fan of the long sleeve t-shirts given out at the fall races. And no one has to know I didn’t race it.

I could have volunteered for the race. Then I’d feel OK wearing the shirt. But it was going to be tough to do the race and get home for Thanksgiving dinner anyway. And really, its a disappointment to me to be somewhere people are running when I’m not. Its dumb, but that’s the way I feel.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

