Life as we know it

Our family adventures

2008: My running year in review

Leave a comment

Running has changed my life this year. It has taken me places I didn’t know I could go; places I didn’t even know I wanted to go. Despite the disappointment of the last two months I know I have developed a lifelong passion.

I had run casually for a few years. I had even run a couple 5Ks. Going into 2008 I had hit a plateau after losing 32 pounds. I needed a new challenge to continue losing the weight.

Team in Training became that new challenge. I had heard about the program before but I was never in the right place to do it. It just so happened I decided I was in that right place back in the middle of January. But I had to be sure. I contemplated for awhile and then I went to the gym and ran 3 miles on the treadmill without walking, just to see if I could do it. I did it, so I figured I could take the challenge of a half marathon. In fact, I was never all that worried about the training; I was more nervous about the fundraising.

But I accomplished the fundraising too. This experience taught me I really can accomplish anything I set my mind to. I raised $3,825 and had an incredible experience being part of an organized sport for the first time in my life. For the first time in my life I considered myself an athlete.

There were so many times I wanted to quit. I probably would have if it hadn’t been for all the support I got from my family, friends and teammates. The brushes with injury and coping with asthma while training during the unbearably long winter made it really tough at times. But I was inspiring people and they were inspiring me. I wasn’t going to quit.

When I finished the Rock ‘n’ Roll half on June 1, I knew I would be a runner for life. Here’s my year in review from top to bottom. I hadn’t really planned to do this, but with all my disappointment of the last two months, I’m finding it therapeutic to go back and look at what I did this past year. I have enjoyed my marathon journey and look forward to continuing in 2009.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

