Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Crutches suck, but maybe they aren’t all bad

Leave a comment

It occurred to me as I was leaving work a couple nights ago that my crutches might have actually benefited me when I fell on the ice Saturday night.

I am pretty sure slipping off the crutches instead of my feet probably protected my stress fracture from any impact.

But I now think that since I was carrying my purse, lunch box and water bottle in a bag on my back, that might have saved me from a worse injury. I think my head would have hit the sidewalk a lot harder if it weren’t for the bag on my back. Perhaps it cushioned the blow. On the flipside, I think I ended up with whiplash instead because there was room for my head to bounce.

I’ve never had a concussion or other major head injury (that I know of, at least), but I’m willing to bet a little whiplash is not as severe as a concussion.

That being said, I suppose it remains to be seen whether the whiplash will have any lasting effects. I have always thought the stress headaches I had for a long time stemmed in part from the whiplash I got after being rear-ended in high school. I didn’t have headache problems until about five years later, but I remember them telling me at the time that there could be lasting effects from whiplash. So I suppose I could end up with problems at any time from this latest episode.

For right now, I do feel like I am recovering. My neck doesn’t hurt anymore. I can feel a few sore spots, but nothing like how it was on Monday. My neck has felt fatigued since yesterday though when I do things like chew and hold my head upright. I didn’t realize how much I take any part of my body for granted until I lose use of that part for awhile!

I am betting the fatigue is just because I tried not to use those muscles for awhile. I’m taking the fatigue as a sign of recovery. I’m still taking the advil and muscle relaxers for at least a few more days. I’m just uncomfortable enough that I think they can still help me.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

