Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Adding more insult to injury

Leave a comment

Or maybe its just more injury to injury. I’m typing this with one hand, which happens to be my left. My right arm is strained or sprained either from the crutches, the fall or a combination of both.

I went to the immediate care clinic today and its the last time I’m going to go there. The doctor I saw was just mean. The nurse who helped me get set with my sling was much nicer.

So yeah, my arm is in a sling and I’ve got some prescribed strong ibuprofin and all I can do is rest. Thats why I have the sling, to keep myself from using it.

Its hard doing things with my left hand, and only my left hand! I’m finding its not terribly difficult typing one handed with my left hand, it just takes a little longer. Its tougher to work in InDesign, and using the mouse in general. My left arm is sore – its not used to doing all this work. It doesn’t help that the sling is kind of digging into my left shoulder.

I do have to admit though that the sling and meds do seem to be helping. Having my arm immobilized kind of isolated the sore spots and they don’t seem quite as sore now. Its supposed to take about a week to get better, but I’m hoping I won’t have to wear this to work again. Working one-handed is tough and I am tired of explaining everything.

So how often does someone use crutches, strain or sprain their arm from those crutches, as well as fall on the ice and end up with whiplash… all in the same week?? There’s got to be some kind of prize for that.

I am in a better mood at least. My neck is feeling a bit better than it has and my arm is recovering too. Knock on wood, I don’t think I’ve had any setbacks on the stress fracture. Here’s hoping next week is better. It certainly can’t get any worse, can it? I guess I shouldn’t tempt fate. Its going to get better, I know it will.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

