Life as we know it

Our family adventures

If I was running and fundraising right now, I’d be in Phoenix…

Leave a comment

Tomorrow the Team in Training group from Madison is running the PF Chang’s Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon in Phoenix. Aren’t they lucky to have a trip to Phoenix after the COLD week we’ve had!

So if I was running and fundraising right now, I would probably be there.

When I got done with the Rock ‘n’ Roll half in San Diego, I said I wouldn’t do fundraising again. I wanted to stay as involved with TNT as I could without fundraising, and I have done that. Fundraising for TNT last year was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done. But looking back, its also one of the most fulfilling.

And believe it or not, I kinda miss it. I miss the challenge. Granted, I miss a lot of things right now considering a big chunk of my life is missing as I recover from this stress fracture. Running, and exercise in general, are so important to me and I haven’t been able to do it since I got hurt.

I guess it is the boredom I have with my injury. But I believe every person running tomorrow in Phoenix, and anyone participating with Team in Training at all, are making a difference in someone’s life. And I wouldn’t mind helping to make a difference again.

The Madison group goes to the Green Bay Marathon as an alumni event. I considered fundraising for that briefly. Its a smaller amount of money and not as big an event. It would have been perfect. I ended up choosing Madison, but in the end it doesn’t matter since I’ve been stationary for the last three months.

If I did fundraise again, it would definitely be far off, probably next year. I have no idea when I will be back to my normal running self from this injury. Not to mention it would take a good bit of effort to convince my husband. But I could do Green Bay next year maybe. Or, the Madison group is going to the first Rock ‘n’ Roll event in Seattle this year, which I would love to do. I could see one of those being a goal next year.

For this year, however, I’m on the sidelines. But I’m cheering!

But back to the group thats in Phoenix right now. I helped on one of their long runs when it was so cold, I know I wouldn’t have been running. I suppose thats the big reward to doing TNT during the winter, that trip! Anyway, I wish them all good luck! You have all made a difference, now enjoy your time in the sun!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

