Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Its been awhile

Leave a comment

It is unacceptable that I haven’t written here in over a week! I didn’t have much to write for a few days and then I got too busy.

I have been working the last two days on a temp job for the Government Accountability Board. We are entering data for the November election from every voting unit in every county in the state. Thats a lot of data! There are five of us and the job will go five to 10 days. I think it will be closer to five than 10 though, but its a couple hundred bucks for Doug and I that we weren’t planning on a week ago.

Data entry is not interesting at all. I am glad I only had to work two days before getting to the weekend. I have been on the go for three days straight and its nice to have a break.

I have been exercising, though not in the gym. I am taking the bus since the job is downtown and the bus is much more convenient and cheaper than driving myself and parking. So I have been walking a lot to and from the bus. Also since the weather has been so nice the last two days I have been walking around the capital square at lunch time.

All that walking has made my stress fracture spot a bit sore. So I’m taking today totally off and hopefully tomorrow I will go to the gym and jog on the treadmill for the first time since October! It will be short though. I will walk five minutes, jog for 10 and then walk for five more. I can increase the jog time by a minute or two each time. I’m not sure how much progress I will make while I’m working downtown though. I get up at 5:30 to catch the bus at 6:50 and get downtown at 7:35 to start work at 8. After work I catch the bus between 4:50 and 5:10 to get home around 6. That makes for a very long day. I don’t know if I will go to the gym at all while I’m working!

I can’t wait to jog. My last run was Oct. 29, three days after I first felt my injury, and when I didn’t realize how serious it was. I had a fantastic run of 6 miles around the arb loop. I had been working on eliminating walk breaks and I didn’t stop to walk once on that run, even though my stress fracture hurt a lot. Every time I was about to stop, the pain subsided and I kept going. I was so proud of myself after that run, though I quickly regretted it and realized I was injured worse than I though. It took another couple weeks though to find out it was a stress fracture. I am pretty sure now that my aggressiveness in eliminating walk breaks is what got me hurt. When increasing mileage, you’re only supposed to increase by 10 percent each week. I think I was following that, but to go from a run-walk interval to all running, I should have been a lot more conservative. I think that kind of switch is more intense than just adding mileage and I should have decreased a bit and then started working my way up.

Starting over will be tough, but it will give me a great foundation to get back to where I was and to continue improving, and do it the right way. I was so focused on mileage last fall, and I think it would have been better to be focused on time instead. Right now I’ll be focused on time and that will be tough. I know I will try to do more than I should. Maybe not right away, but as I gain confidence I will have to restrain myself.

It was plenty different working at all this week since its been 7 weeks since I worked. Not to mention working during the day will take some getting used to. I really need to get a permanent job though. The search is not going particularly well. I got a couple rejections this week, though I also got a letter about testing for a city job. So hopefully that will open a door for me. I’m going to spend a couple hours today on job stuff and then I will relax. I deserve it even though I only worked two days.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

