Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Crazylegs here I come

Leave a comment

I just had my first “run” in almost 4 and a half months and it felt great!!

It felt kind of weird at first though. It felt strange just to step up on the treadmill! It was foreign to me, I felt like I shouldn’t be there. I was kind of nervous as I started my 5-minute walk. My 10-minute jog was a little awkward because it was very slow without an incline. I went between 4.4 and 4.6 mph. It was weird since I don’t usually run that slow but also because I am out of shape. It felt a little more normal toward the end though. Between my walking and jogging I clocked 1.25 miles, .75 for the jog itself.

My next workout will be Tuesday, where I can jog for 12 minutes. I’m not sure when I can start increasing my speed. A 12-minute jog will give me almost a mile on the jog.

I looked up registration info for the Crazylegs and the entry fee goes up $5 on April 6. So on April 5, I will make my decision about the run vs. walk. If I can get up to a half hour running by that time, I will sign up for the run. But if not I will do the walk.

This afternoon I’m going to buy a new pair of running shoes. I was going to wait a bit, but I think it will be best for me to be in good shoes right away. I have a $25 gift card and a $25 store credit for Fleet Feet, so I won’t have to spend too much.

I need to start doing my achilles exercises again because my achilles was tight today. I’ll start with the stretches and then add the strength exercises. I’m so excited to see where this will lead. Wish me luck!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

