Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Surprise improvement

Leave a comment

Already, I knew Thursday’s run was an improvement over last Saturday. My legs didn’t get nearly as sore! In fact, they weren’t sore at all. But I got an even better surprise today as I went for my jog prepared to go for 10 to 12 minutes. I felt really good and ended up going to 14! Talk about a pleasant surprise.

Something I’m still not quite sure how to deal with is my morning sickness/tummy queasiness after working out. I have had the morning sickness off and on though I haven’t been vomiting, thank goodness. Its still very unpleasant. I have to eat constantly because it happens if my stomach gets too empty. But sometimes it also happens if my tummy gets too full! But anyway, what happens when I work out is I get pretty queasy almost immediately when I’m done with my workout. I used to eat right before working out, but that I have found makes the queasiness worse. I waited an hour or so and still got queasy. This morning I went about two and a half hours after eating and it wasn’t nearly as bad. Unfortunately I got hungry right away and when I didn’t eat quickly enough my stomach just hasn’t been the same all day.

I wish I knew what to do for this. I also wonder what I’ll do when my workouts start getting longer. I used to eat before working out and sometimes during and especially right after when I used all my energy. Not sure how that will work now. But it’ll be awhile before I get to that point. Hopefully second trimester when I should apparently have a lot more energy.

This week I have logged 3 miles in my walking and jogging. 1.75 of those miles were jogged. I jogged a full mile today! That was a bit of a milestone in my recovery, I’ll admit. I’m pretty satisfied with how I did this week. I was a bit discouraged after Thursday. My legs are still kind of weak and my lungs need to catch up, but its getting better.

I used to run 4 to 5 miles minimum at a time. My total workout time this week was 46 minutes, while I used to exercise an hour to an hour and a half at a time! It’s OK though. I will get back there. Its just kind of interesting to compare sometimes.

So now I rest until my next workout Tuesday! Tomorrow or Monday I should try doing my PT exercises. I’m not sure how many times a week I should do them. I’m working out three times a week and I’d like to do the PT exercises three times as well. Realistically though I will probably do it twice. At least while I’m working. If my job ends after this week I will have more time.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

