Life as we know it

Our family adventures

One year ago…

Leave a comment

Last year at this time I was getting started in my racing. It was this weekend last year I ran the Black Earth 10-mile race. It wasn’t one of my favorite races, but I was so surprised by my results! It was also last year at this time that I started to develop my achilles issues.

This year I’m recovering from my stress fracture and pregnant besides. I couldn’t run 10 miles tomorrow if I wanted to. I wish I could though. I remember my surprise in finding out I ran that race in under two hours! It was only about a minute under two hours but it was still quite a surprise. It was then that I realized I might actually be pretty good at this running thing. Not fast, but always improving and always beating my expectations.

I’m going to register for the Crazylegs this weekend. I’m not quite where I want to be in my running yet, but I think even if I walk the whole race, I want to do it. I don’t want to wait another year. I’m progressing my running very well. I haven’t had any soreness after my run yesterday and my body seems good to go for another run tomorrow. I can’t wait!

It was at this point last year that I was shattering my expectations in my running but starting to get pretty nervous with my fundraising. I still wonder how I did it. I still marvel that I DID do it. That accomplishment will stick with me for a long time. It makes the challenges of my life now not seem quite so intimidating. I raised money for blood cancers and trained for a half marathon… I can certainly find a new job and handle pregnancy!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

