Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Spring sunshine

Leave a comment

That’s what we have today and I took full advantage of it with my first outdoor run in six months.

I am surprised I managed to forget how different the road is from the treadmill. It was a tough run, but I feel good afterward. We’ll see if my legs agree with me later.

My goal for the run was 26 minutes. While I did run 26 minutes, I had to stop in the middle for about 5 minutes. Its OK though. Part of the problem is I didn’t pick the best trail for my first run in six months. The Capitol City Trail east of Seminole Highway is very pretty, but its also very hilly. The out is up hill, and the back is down. So after my walk in the middle, the run back was much better.

I also had a hard time with my pace. I’m not sure if I should keep it as slow as on the treadmill or if I should just run at whatever pace I settle into. My normal running pace is about 12:30 per mile, while my treadmill pace right now is 14:00 per mile. My doctor did tell me I could start increasing my speed, but I don’t know if I’m ready for that yet.

As I was finishing my run, I decided I will keep my outdoor runs short for now. I will have my longer progression runs on the treadmill. And I also remembered the wisdom I learned last year that its better to alternate between the road and the treadmill to make the transition easier, and I’m sure, injury-free. I will do everything to stay injury-free!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

