Life as we know it

Our family adventures

A great run, but I’m nervous…

1 Comment

I had an absolutely fabulous run yesterday. I felt great the entire time, even the last five minutes when it got rough. I am finally recovered from my asthma problems of the last month or so, which helped a lot. I also think I’m getting back into my proper form. The last time I was on the treadmill, last Monday, I was quite uncomfortable. Yesterday I felt natural.

Unfortunately, my stress fracture spot has been a little sore since yesterday. Now I expect that, but for some reason I am more nervous about it right now. Maybe because I’m really getting back into it and now I’m afraid I will be out again. But I suppose its not unexpected to be a little more sore, the longer I run.

I think just because I felt so great yesterday, I am more nervous because I would be more disappointed if something happened again.

All I can really do is take my rest days and not overdo it on my run days. But I also really need to start doing my physical therapy exercises. I haven’t done them at all and my first appointment was nearly a month ago. I had an appointment this past week that I rescheduled because it would have been pointless to spend a copay without having something show for it. I REALLY need to get on the ball with that. I think if I start doing the PT consistently, it will take my confidence a long way.

Less than two weeks until the Crazylegs. I’m formulating a plan for the race and probably beyond. I think I will start using intervals on my outdoor runs, while still improving my time on the treadmill runs. I’ll evaluate after the race what my training should be like into the summer. I am not sure I will be able to run very deep into pregnancy, but I’m going to try.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “A great run, but I’m nervous…

  1. I understand about being nervous. I was so scared when I started running again after straining my calf. I still am! Keep up the runs, you are doing great!

Leave a Reply

