Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Good progress despite no race to train for

Leave a comment

I can see progress is definitely being made in my running as well as overall fitness. Progress that I didn’t make when my goal was to run as fast and as far as possible. Its actually good that I’m not training for a race.

I haven’t had any trouble with my achilles since I started running again. I’m sure its because I’m running slow and doing my best to avoid hills. Hopefully my better foundation now will prevent more problems in the future.

I’m still feeling some soreness in my stress fracture spot after runs, but its getting better. I’m not as nervous as I used to be.

My new concentration on bending my knees more seems to be helping too. I didn’t have any hip soreness after my last run, something I have had a problem with in the last couple weeks. Unfortunately today my hip is randomly sore, when I haven’t run since Monday!

I’m at the mercy of the great outdoors now. Doug and I decided not to continue our YMCA membership and save our money before Gold’s Gym opens in mid-summer. Hopefully the weather will be nice enough to get runs in three times a week. And I am walking on most days I don’t run. I’m finding it quite relaxing, especially when I get out in the morning.

I dreamed about running a half marathon this morning. Two of my online friends ran half marathons last weekend. Another online friend ran Boston a few weeks ago. I’m talking about pregnant online friends. I suppose I could keep whining that I could have run a half while pregnant too if I hadn’t been injured. But who cares? Really. I just admitted I’m making great progress despite being way slower than I used to be and despite not having a race to train for. I’ll train for a couple 5Ks and maybe a 10K and that will work for me. The big races will still be there next year.

Oh and my friend Jessica successfully finished the Festival 500 Mini Marathon in Indianapolis last weekend, with a time of 2:25:43. I’m so proud of her! We always wonder if we can do it. Theres always a bit of uncertainty, but she did it! And I will do it next year with a better running foundation than before.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

