Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Recipe for a great run

Leave a comment

Twice now I have gone out for a run when I didn’t feel like it. And twice now I have had a great run because of it! I’m finding more and more I have my best runs when I just don’t feel like running.

Last Monday I was in a bad mood and I just wanted to sit in the house and be lazy. I had somewhere to be in the early evening and I didn’t think I had enough time. But I made myself go out and run and ended up having a nice 2 mile workout of just running, instead of run-walking. Then today I did the same thing. I had a busy week last week and I just wanted to play the xbox (I rented a new Guitar Hero this weekend), but I decided I could do both. I ran around the neighborhood for almost an hour, did some housework and still got to play my game. This run was quite tough, I was tired. I probably wasn’t at my full energy since it had been awhile since lunch. But I was still glad I went.

I am getting a bit frustrated with my lack of improvement right now. I thought I was improving but I don’t really see it as much now. I have gotten better with pacing myself, but I’m so slow and I get so tired. I doubt I will run more than 5 miles before the baby is born.

But this is my first pregnancy; I don’t have anything to compare it to. I know I shouldn’t be trying to get faster. I’m really not trying to do that. I just want to not be so tired. I wouldn’t mind running a 10K again, but I don’t think I will do that anytime soon.

The good part of all this forced slowness, as I wrote the other day, is that I’m not having any achilles problems or any other problems really. I haven’t even had any hip soreness in awhile. I know running slow is good for me. I should have run slow like this last year when I started. But I think its human nature to want to be faster too.

I’d love to run four times a week. I’d love to run faster. But I keep repeating too that I’m glad to be running at all. Three times a week is fine and my speed doesn’t matter. I’d like to run a couple races this summer but I don’t even know if I will do that. Its OK though! I’m running!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

