Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Injuries… still

1 Comment

Figures that in rehabbing my stress fracture, I’d hurt my knee. I have the “runner’s knee,” technical name patellofemoral syndrome. Its pain under or around the knee cap where it connects to the femur. I think I hurt it while trying to do one-legged squats, an exercise I had to strengthen my hip.

I find it funny that its known as runner’s knee, when I can still run. Or rather, I could run if my stress fracture wasn’t sore. It got sore yesterday, just out of the blue. Not from exercising. The soreness appeared as I was getting dressed after my shower. Yesterday was going to be a running day, but I put it off because of that pain and also because it was too hot to run. I thought I’d run today, but it turns out the pain in the stress fracture is still there.

So I went swimming instead. My physical therapist gave me a new exercise to do for my knee and said I could still run as long my knee wasn’t in lasting excruciating pain. I asked about swimming and he said that was fine, but only the front crawl. Well, I’m terrible at the front crawl. I do breast stroke. That was off limits though because of the kick. It felt fine in the pool, but not so much once I got out. My knee has been in varying amounts of pain for the past few weeks now and its up there again today.

It seems a bit like a slap in the face that I’m so beat up going into this weekend. My left leg in between the sore stress fracture and sore knee is sore too. Sunday is the Madison Marathon. This is the race that I had decided back in October would be my first full marathon. Anyone who reads this blog will also remember I decided this the same weekend I first got hurt with the stress fracture. So the full was out, maybe I could have done the half. But I stayed hurt, since the pelvic stress fractures take forever to heal. After all, mine still isn’t quite healed.

But then I got cleared to exercise and thought maybe I could run the quarter marathon. That’s when I found out I was pregnant! The quarter wasn’t out right away, but the more I have run since March, the more it just isn’t realistic for me to run anything more than a 5K right now. And since I’m so beat up and not running as well as I’d like, I don’t even think I could run a 5K either. There’s one in two weeks I’d like to sign up for, but right now I don’t know if I will. I just want to run and it seems there is so much still in my way. I’m thrilled to be pregnant, of course. I just wish I wasn’t still dealing with injury and I wish I could exercise the way I used to. Of course, I’ve been saying all along and this still applies, I’m happy to be running at all. I’d like to think that if I had been running before I got pregnant I could be running the half marathon this weekend. But it doesn’t matter. I wasn’t running then and I’m not running the race. I’m beat up right now anyway.

So instead of running any of the races this weekend, I’m volunteering. I’m helping at a water stop with my running store. We’re staffing the stop at mile 23. I was a course marshal for the Shamrock Shuffle in March and I enjoyed that, despite getting yelled at by angry motorists as I stopped them for the runners. I think handling a water stop at a marathon is going to be crazy and also interesting and fun. I’m a little sad right now that I’m not running, but I think I will be excited to get started when I get there on Sunday. I’m helping to take care of a very important part of the race for all the runners!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Injuries… still

  1. Injuries can be avoided in marathon it is a part of the race. Anyway I like your blog very nice.

Leave a Reply

