Life as we know it

Our family adventures

The water stop is hard work!

Leave a comment

I have an even greater appreciation for race volunteers after being one today. I worked the mile 23 water station during the Madison Marathon today. The event wasn’t without its difficult moments. The station ahead of ours wasn’t ready when runners started coming, apparently they didn’t have cups! So we got behind, but I think most who wanted water got it. The half marathoners came through first and then we had a long break before the full marathoners started coming, so we were ready for them.

There’s a kind of art to getting the water to the runner, especially the really fast ones. The first cup I handed out ended up all over me. I figured it out though. I poured a lot of water too. That was tough on my wrist!

I did have a few moments of wishing I was running the race instead of handing out water. But I didn’t have a ton of time to dwell on it.

And I like my volunteer T-shirt better than the regular race shirt.

It was definitely a fulfilling, though exhausting experience. I worked for five hours, all of them on my feet. They still hurt. I really enjoyed doing this today. Everyone who runs should volunteer for a race. I hope to do a few more this summer, though I also hope to run in a few!

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

