Life as we know it

Our family adventures

San Diego memories

Leave a comment

This is the one-year anniversary of my first half marathon. I can’t help thinking about how different my life was a year ago and missing that a little. San Diego is an amazing place and it was a great site for my first half. Maybe I’ll run the full there some day.

The half was harder than I expected. It was rough because of some of the terrain and also because I hadn’t trained quite to the level I wanted because of nagging injuries. But perhaps the worst part was the decision I made to leave the finish line area without using the bathroom again. I was tired of porta-potties. I needed to go but Doug and I were going to go to lunch, and I’d use facilities there. But I didn’t realize how long it would take to get there.

We took the trolley all weekend. That trolley was so easy to use and convenient with a station right behind our resort. However, the trolley wasn’t especially close to the marine base where the race finish was located. It took awhile to get to the station. And then with all the crowds it took awhile to get on the trolley. I don’t remember if we wanted to eat at Little Italy or if we originally wanted to go somewhere else. But we finally got on a trolley going the opposite direction, got off at a less crowded stop, and caught a train going the other way.

There were no bathrooms along the way. We actually saw more than one porta-potty that by this time I would have gladly used, except they all had locks on them! No bathrooms at the train stations. By the time we got off in Little Italy, I was so incredibly uncomfortable. We went into a 7-11, but no luck, no public bathroom. Finally I just ran into a coffee shop and used it there. I don’t like to go into a business to use the bathroom and not buy anything, but I had to. And it was such a relief.

In case this doesn’t sound all that awful, it was. If I remember correctly, it took close to an hour and a half before I finally found that bathroom. I had been drinking plenty of water and eating plenty of food all day and since finishing the race.

I learned a valuable lesson that day: A porta-potty is better than no potty!

San Diego is an amazing place, I’ve said that already. Our vacation last year was an amazing experience. I would go back there in a heart beat. We had so many cool experiences on that trip that its hard to pick one thing we did that was my favorite.

Reliving this vacation lately is hard right now because of the struggles I am having, not only with having enough money to get the bills paid, but also with all the doubt I have. The feeling that this whole situation is my fault. Right now I just want everything to be the way it was. I want to have a job again and I want to go on vacation. I want to go somewhere, anywhere.

But reliving what Doug and I were doing last year is also a reminder of an obstacle that I overcame, a pretty large obstacle. I raised $3,800 for blood cancers and I ran a half marathon. There were many challenges in the way of this goal. As I went through the process last year I kept repeating that the experience made me realize I really can do anything. I still believe that. I can beat our current challenge; and Doug and I will be better for it.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

