Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Back to cardio, finally

Leave a comment

Last weekend Doug and I toured the new Gold’s Gym that we joined back in January. That place is going to be amazing once it opens. The date right now for opening is July 20.

I’ve made a new plan for working out until the gym opens. Since I can’t run right now I decided to cheat a little. Several gyms in the Madison area offer a free trial week as a way to lure potential members. Well, I’m taking advantage of those trial weeks until Gold’s opens. I started Wednesday at one gym and there are 5 that I have found with this offer. In addition, there’s a gym where I could pay $25 for a 25-day trial. I don’t have the money for that right now, but hopefully in a few weeks I will. That will take me up to Gold’s Gym opening!

So on Wednesday I took my first spin class in seven months. I was really amazed that I lasted the whole class. My old spin class was only 40 minutes and this one was an hour. I found that my spinning fitness level is still pretty good. In fact, I got to the point where I would have been feeling really good, except for the fact I hadn’t been on a bike in seven months. Those bikes aren’t too kind on certain areas of the body when you’re just starting out. The rear end and arms were the worst. And since I don’t have cycling shoes, the shoes I tried this time made my feet hurt on the bike. So I’ll try different shoes next time.

Thursday I went swimming and today after physical therapy, if I am not too sore, I will probably use an elliptical or treadmill, or maybe another spin class. I have to decide if my body is up to it.

It feels so good to do a real cardio workout again! I hope I can extend these cheats all the way up to when Gold’s Gym opens. I really love the sweat and just the endorphins of a great spin workout. I’m also looking forward to try some water aerobics and other aerobics, once I figure out which ones I can do in pregnancy.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

