Life as we know it

Our family adventures

A little shaky, but otherwise functional

Leave a comment

After a week with no running or exercise of any kind, not to mention plenty of fast food, I needed exercise. More than that, I needed to run. So I set out on a short run this morning in my brand new ankle brace to see how my sore ankle would hold up. Well, I set out on the gym treadmill.

The ankle was feeling fine by the end of last week, but still gets a little sore and truth be told, its still a little swollen. I decided I wanted to try a run, but I decided to go with the dreadmill because I could bail on the run if I needed to and hop on the elliptical instead.

Happily, though quite tired, I ran for a half hour on the treadmill, which netted me 2.25 miles. My ankle did feel a little shaky though. I felt it trying to roll out, which makes sense because thats how I sprained it in the first place. I definitely felt the weakness, but overall I ran pretty well.

As is always true when I start up again after a little time off, I was surprised how hard this run was. Its amazing how quickly the fitness goes away. Or maybe I’m not as fit as I think I am, who knows? As I was starting I wasn’t sure I’d make it a mile. So I decided I had to get to a mile and a half. Then I decided I should get to 2 miles. And when I made it to 2 around 27 minutes in, I decided to go to 2.25 to round out my 30 minutes.

By the time I was done with that 30 minutes I didn’t feel my legs. It was like my torso was just floating. It was the strangest feeling. I felt like that when I started the run too because it felt weird running when my left ankle was all bound up in the brace and my right was just normal.

I have a follow up doctor’s appointment on Friday and I’m not really sure I should have run before that, but I needed this. I don’t know if I’ll run again before that appointment. I will just have to see how the ankle feels. But overall I’m happy I did it and happy that I was able to do it.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

Leave a Reply

