Life as we know it

Our family adventures

Update on my ankle

1 Comment

I had a follow up doctor’s appointment yesterday and the nurse practicitioner I saw explained it to me why the radiologist wasn’t sure if the small fracture on my xray was new or old.

Apparently the tendon when its injured can pull off little flecks of bone. It’s called an avulsion. If its a new fracture, you can see on the xray where the bone came from, the “donor spot.” There wasn’t a donor spot on my xray, which means that spot has healed, thus its an old injury. Even if this fracture had been a new one, an avulsion isn’t severe.

So I feel more confident now that my ankle is healing, but I have to wear my ankle brace while running at least for the next month, which is becoming problematic. It gave me a blister on my arch during this morning’s long run. I wasn’t wearing my double layer running socks today, so I am hoping those socks will help. Otherwise I’m not sure what I can do. I guess try bandaids and/or body glide? We shall see.

Author: Jessica

I am a running working mama. We work hard and play hard and I have a lot to share along the way.

One thought on “Update on my ankle

  1. The best ankle brace is the Zoom Ankle. It has this cool soft shell technology that is really comfortable and supportive. http://www.zoomankle.com

Leave a Reply

